Three BC Players Named In Canada Roster for Crunch RWC2023 Qualifier

Canada’s Senior Men’s team heads to Chile with 22-21 aggregate lead

Three BC natives have been named in the match-day roster for Canada’s Senior Men’s 15s Rugby World Cup 2023 Qualification Pathway crunch match against Chile this weekend.

Siaki Vikilani (Burnaby) will start at No. 8, while Michael Smith (White Rock) and Quinn Ngawati (Victoria) are both reserves for October 9’s crucial second leg at Estadio Elías Figueroa Brander, Valparaiso.

Kingsley Jones has made two changes to the side that won last weekend’s first leg 22-21 in Langford, BC. Newly arrived Tyler Ardron slots into the back row at No. 6 and veteran Patrick Parfrey starts at fullback. In the reserves, Matt Tierney comes back into the match-day team at No. 18 while Ngawati could see his first Rugby World Cup Qualification action should he come onto the pitch. The side is again captained by Lucas Rumball.

Kick off for the second leg of the two-match series is set for 2pm ET/11am PT. Fans can view exclusively in Canada through Premier Sports for USD $9.95.

The winner of the two-match series is determined by an aggregate score across both games and will face the loser of the USA-Uruguay series next July to decide Americas 2, which will qualify for the 2023 Rugby World Cup in Pool D alongside No. 4 England, No. 8 Argentina, No. 10 Japan and No. 13 Samoa.

Canada and Chile prepare for a scrum



1. Djustice Sears-Duru – Oakville, ON – Unattached

2. Eric Howard – Ottawa, ON – NOLA Gold

3. Tyler Rowland – Mississauga, ON – Toronto Arrows

4. Corey Thomas – Perth, Western AUS – LA Giltinis

5. Kyle Baillie – Summerside, PEI – NOLA Gold

6. Tyler Ardron – Peterbourough, ON – Castres Olympique

7. Lucas Rumball – Markham, ON – Toronto Arrows (C)

8. Siaki Vikilani – Burnaby, BC – Toronto Arrows


9. Ross Braude – Pretoria, SA – Toronto Arrows

10. Peter Nelson – Dungannon, UK – Stade Aurillacois Cantal Auvergne

11. Kainoa Lloyd – Mississauga, ON – James Bay AA

12. Spencer Jones – Cambridge, NZ – Toronto Arrows

13. Ben LeSage – Calgary, AB – Toronto Arrows

14. Brock Webster – Uxbridge, ON – Canada Rugby 7’s

15. Patrick Parfrey – St. John’s, NL – Toronto Arrows/Swilers RFC


16. Andrew Quattrin – Holland Landing, ON – Toronto Arrows

17. Cole Keith – Sussex, NB – Toronto Arrows

18. Matt Tierney – Oakville, ON – Castres Olympique

19. Conor Keys – Stittsville, ON – Rugby ATL

20. Michael Smith – White Rock, BC – San Diego Legion

21. Rob Povey – Long Buckby, UK – Houston SaberCats

22. Jason Higgins – Cork, IRE – Toronto Arrows

23. Quinn Ngawati – Victoria, BC – RUNY