BC Players Named to Canada’s Senior Women’s 15s team

Canada will face USA on November 1 & 5, launching the soft start of the Pacific Four Series

Head coach Sandro Fiorino has named the match-day roster for Canada’s Senior Women’s 15s team that will face the United States this Monday, Nov. 1 and Friday, Nov. 5 at Infinity Park in Colorado.

Three BC players will compete in Canada’s opening matches against the United States: Sophie De Goede from Victoria, BC, Nakisa Levale from Abbotsford, BC, and Mikiela Nelson from North Vancouver, BC. De Goede plays for the Castaway Wanderers and Queens University, Levale plays for Abbotsford, and Nelson plays for Capilano. Additionally, seven playing whom have played for BC Rugby Clubs have also been named to the Roster: Gabby Senft (Castaway Wanders / University of Victoria Vikes), Sara Kaljuvee Ajax (University of Victoria Vikes), Paige Farries (Westshore RFC), Renee Gonzalez (Westshore RFC / University of Victoria Vikes), Emily Belchos (Westshore RFC), Gillian Boag (Capilano RFC), and Tyson Beukeboom (Cowichan Piggies RFC).

Canada’s opening two matches mark the soft launch of the Pacific Four Series, a new women’s competition that will soft launch with Canada and USA going head-to-head on November 1 and 5, 2021. The full four-team format will debut in 2022, ahead of next year’s Rugby World Cup.

“Our team is very excited to return to the pitch against the United States,” said Fiorino. “The players have been waiting for this moment for a long time and we are excited to do so against such a top tier opponent in USA Rugby.”

Canada’s roster features a wealth of experience heading into their November matches, with a total of 398 caps spread across the roster, led by Laura Russell, who will look to earn her 50th cap. Teammates Alex Tessier, DaLeaka Menin, Emily Belchos, Sophie de Goede, and Karen Paquin will all enter the Fall Tour looking for their 30th caps.

Story by Rugby Canada 



Olivia Demerchant  Mapledale, NB – Exeter Chiefs, Halifax Tars RFC
Emily Tuttosi – Souris, MB – Exeter Chiefs
Daleaka Menin – Vulcan, AB – Exeter Chiefs
Courtney Holtkamp – Rimbey, AB – Red Deer Titans
Emma Taylor Scotsburn, NS – HRFC / London Saracens
Janna Slevinsky St. Albert, AB – Saracens, Calgary Saracens
Karen Paquin – La Ville de Quebec, QC – Club de Rugby de Quebec & Stade Bordelais
Gabby Senft – Regina, SK – Castaway Wanders/University of Victoria Vikes
Brianna Miller Pointe-Claire, QC – Saint-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC
Alex Tessier Sainte-Clotilde-de-Horton, QC – Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue RFC
Sabrina Poulin  St-Georges de Beauce, QC – TMRRFC/Stade Rennais
Sara Kaljuvee Ajax, ON – Toronto Scottish/University of Victoria Vikes
Paige Farries Red Deer, AB – Worcester Warriors/Westshore RFC
Renee Gonzalez Toronto, ON – Westshore RFC/University of Victoria Vikes
Emily Belchos Innisfil, ON – Westshore RFC


Gillian Boag Calgary, AB – Capilano RFC
Brittany Kassil  Guelph, ON – Guelph Redcoats
Alex Ellis Ottawa, ON  Barrhaven Scottish and Saracens
Tyson Beukeboom Uxbridge, ON – Cowichan Piggies RFC
Sophie De Goede Victoria, BC – Castaway Wanderers RFC/Queen’s University
Justine Pelletier Riviere-du-Loup, QC – Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais  / Club de Rugby de Quebec
Nakisa Levale Abbotsford, BC Abbotsford  RFC
Sarah-Maude Lachange Victoriaville, QC – Lons Section Paloise Rugby Faminin / Club de Rugby de Quebec

Broadcast Details – how to watch online

Both Canada’s Women’s Tour matches versus USA Rugby are set to broadcast on TSN.ca and the TSN app, kicking off on Nov. 1 (7:53pm ET/4:53pm PT). Tune into the TSN broadcast below.